Julius Caesar – Death Masks

Absolutely fascinating!

Be sure to check out SOTT Talk Radio today, where I’ll be discussing the real Caesar:

Julius Caesar – Deceitful Demagogue or the People’s Champion?

Many interesting personalities emerged during the last days of Rome’s Republic, but one man stood head and shoulders above the rest. This week we’re going to continue where we left off last week, taking a deeper look at the life and times of Julius Caesar – politician, statesman, author and military general.

Caesar emerged at a time of political intrigues, civil war and rebellion. Standing for social justice, inclusive democracy and economic empowerment of the people, Caesar sought to transform the conditions of ordinary people. But he encountered tremendous resistance from the ruling oligarchy, whose efforts to thwart him culminated in his assassination at the height of his power in 44 B.C.

Caesar’s legacy is a mixed one. Was he really the tyrannical demagogue portrayed by Cicero and other contemporary historians? Or must his deeds be re-examined in light of the discovery by Francesco Carotta and others that his life and achievements were the model for the story of ‘Jesus’?

Laura will be joining us again this week, so be sure to tune in Sunday, July 21st 2013, at 11am-1pm PST, 2-4pm EST, and 8-10pm CET!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.